Exercise 5

 

Second Life from its general perception is an experience on its own but going to hallucination island was a different experience all together. Walking through a house with distorted flooring, wacky posters and dancing laptops at first glance it might appear to be a haunted house like attraction but there is deeper meaning. The objective of the house is to understand what it is like to have schizophrenia.

Since I am often immersed in video games myself the visual changes in the game to reiterate what it is like to have schizophrenia did not do much for me. The graphics of this game are a little out of date but for someone not into video games I can see where it would work for them. This being said, the “voices” had me a bit on edge. I cannot imagine constantly have an inner demon telling you to do such terrifying actions. This part clicked for me and helped me grab a better understanding of the mental illness.

This exercise was quick yet efficient in helping me better understand what it is like to have and deal with schizophrenia. I wasn’t expecting the level of detail that the game gave me and the immersive voices were creepy and efficient in their purpose of showing the effects of schizophrenia on the mind.

Through this exercise I have learned that schizophrenia is a mental illness that affects people in varying degrees. For some it could be voices inside ones head telling them to kill themselves and for others it could be saying that everyone is trying to kill them. It can also distort the physical world and make certain words pop out compared to others.  As a whole, this exercise has helped me gain a better understanding of schizophrenia and just how serious of a mental illness it is.

 

Leave a Reply

